Golden chance to celebrate the energy industry

Gold Awards at the Marcliffe Hotel, Aberdeen. 
Picture by Jim Irvine  5-9-18
Gold Awards at the Marcliffe Hotel, Aberdeen. Picture by Jim Irvine 5-9-18

An annual competition celebrating excellence in the UK energy industry has had its entry deadline extended.

But anyone wanting to nominate candidates for the various categories in The Press and Journal Energy Voice Gold Awards, held in association with Aberdeen Standard Investments (ASI), still needs to act fast as entries must be in by Wednesday May 1.

Nominations can be made online at or via an email to Laura Adam at

The competition is in its fifth year and the various award categories, reflecting the depth and breadth of the energy industry, are expected to be as hotly contested as ever.

The above and beyond gong recognises outstanding employees who help fuel the energy sector, while the innovation accolade – sponsored by Balmoral Group and open to joint bids – is aimed at the people behind projects securing the industry’s future.

Companies which keep the wellbeing of their workforce at the heart of everything they do are ideal candidates for the health and safety award.

The renewables award is targeted at successful projects and examples of innovation in the green energy sector.

There are small and large company of the year accolades up for grabs, while the Dr Mildred Dresselhaus award recognises the contribution of outstanding women in energy.

There is also an apprentice award to celebrate the future lifeblood of the industry.

The industry leader award – sponsored by Scottish Enterprise (SE) – is for “an outstanding energy leader, who deserves to be recognised for their appetite for continued learning, mentoring and influence”.

Julie Roberts, digital energy lead, SE, said this accolade was an ideal way to “identify and reward an outstanding digital transformation leader from the energy industry”.

An industry heavyweight will be unveiled as the latest winner of the ASI-sponsored hall of fame category at the ceremony, which takes place on Friday September 6 at the Chester Hotel in Aberdeen.