OGUK director scoops prestigious accolade at Offshore Achievement Awards

Oonagh Werngren, Oil & Gas UK’s operations director
Oonagh Werngren, Oil & Gas UK’s operations director

The former operations director of trade body Oil and Gas UK (OGUK) was handed a top accolade for significant contribution to the industry at an awards ceremony in Aberdeen last night.

Oonagh Werngren was recognised at the 2017 Offshore Achievement Awards for her work at OGUK, where she was responsible for establishing a number of pan-industry projects to increase exploration and production in the UKCS.
She was also previously president of the Petroleum Exploration Society of Great Britain (PESGB), one of only two women to hold the position in over 50 years, and has held non-executive director roles for the Oil and Gas Innovation Centre (Ogic) and the Industry Technology Facilitator (ITF), as well as the Girls’ Network.
In 2011, she was awarded an MBE for services to the oil and gas industry.

An audience of almost 500 industry professionals attended the annual event which recognises innovation, collaboration and exceptional performance within the UK offshore energy sector.
The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section revealed twelve companies and individuals as winners at the ceremony at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC).
Other individuals to be recognised last night included Marianne McKevitt of BP who won the Young Professional award, whilst Sam Lisney of Petrofac EPS West was named winner of the Above & Beyond category.

Ian Phillips, chairman of award organisers SPE Aberdeen said: “Once again, the finalists and winners of this year’s Offshore Achievement Awards have showcased the important work that continues to take place in our industry.
“In the first few months of 2017, we have seen improved prospects for the UKCS which has in turn created a slightly more positive sentiment. It is crucial that we harness and use this enthusiasm to continue collaborating, innovating, creating efficiencies and developing best practice.
“The standard of entries this year was both inspiring and encouraging, and presented the judges with an extremely tough job when it came to selecting the winners. SPE Aberdeen and the OAA sponsors would like to congratulate all of the winners, each of whom impressed us with their ambition and passion for their work.”
Of her Offshore Achievement Award win, Ms Werngren said: “To receive the news that I was the recipient of this year’s Significant Contribution award was extremely exciting, and I’m honoured to be recognised by my peers within the UK offshore industry.
“I’ve been involved in a number of major industry projects during the last four decades, and would like to express deep gratitude to all the colleagues I have worked with during this time. Many of these people have been a great inspiration and a privilege to work alongside, in particular the young analysts, engineers and geologists who are destined to become the next generation’s leaders.”

Donald Taylor, acting managing director for Taqa Europe said: “Once again the Offshore Achievement Awards has been a great showcase for the strength, creativity and ambition we see in the oil and gas and renewable industries. It is encouraging to see so many companies and individuals taking the time to share their success stories. The winners demonstrate a diverse range of significant achievements, showing just how much the industry is still driving forward, finding innovative solutions and efficiencies.”

The 2017 Offshore Achievement Award winners in each category are:
Emerging Technology
M-Flow Technologies

Delphian Ballistics

Safety Innovations

Environmental Innovation

Export Achievement
JDR Cable Systems

Maersk Oil/Amec Foster Wheeler/Bilfinger Salamis

Outstanding Skills Development Programme

Young Professional
Marianne McKevitt, BP
Highly commended: Mandy Johnstone, N-Sea

Above & Beyond
Sam Lisney, Petrofac EPS, West
Highly commended: Bob Banks, Petrofac EPS, West

Great Small Company
Enpro Subsea

Great Large Company
JDR Cable Systems

Significant Contribution Award
Oonagh Werngren