Ecuador to open up onshore licencing round

Post Thumbnail

Ecuador will launch an eight block oil and gas licensing round, the country’s energy minister has announced today.

Carlos Perez Garcia, minister of energy and non-renewable resources announced an open licensing round for eight blocks onshore Ecuador in SucumbĂ­os Province.

The blocks include: Araza Este, Changue, Iguana, Perico, Espejo, Panayacu Norte, Charapa and Sahino.

Called the Intracampos round, blocks offered are all onshore, sandstone reservoirs and one with a carbonate reservoir.

Ecuadorian authorities claim all are low risk exploratory blocks and are located close to established fields.

The energy ministers office added that the opportunity was for “short medium and long-term investment, with future rounds planned”.