Calendar An icon of a desk calendar. Cancel An icon of a circle with a diagonal line across. Caret An icon of a block arrow pointing to the right. Email An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of the Facebook "f" mark. Google An icon of the Google "G" mark. Linked In An icon of the Linked In "in" mark. Logout An icon representing logout. Profile An icon that resembles human head and shoulders. Telephone An icon of a traditional telephone receiver. Tick An icon of a tick mark. Is Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes. Is Not Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes with a diagonal line through it. Pause Icon A two-lined pause icon for stopping interactions. Quote Mark A opening quote mark. Quote Mark A closing quote mark. Arrow An icon of an arrow. Folder An icon of a paper folder. Breaking An icon of an exclamation mark on a circular background. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Caret An icon of a caret arrow. Clock An icon of a clock face. Close An icon of the an X shape. Close Icon An icon used to represent where to interact to collapse or dismiss a component Comment An icon of a speech bubble. Comments An icon of a speech bubble, denoting user comments. Ellipsis An icon of 3 horizontal dots. Envelope An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of a facebook f logo. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Home An icon of a house. Instagram An icon of the Instagram logo. LinkedIn An icon of the LinkedIn logo. Magnifying Glass An icon of a magnifying glass. Search Icon A magnifying glass icon that is used to represent the function of searching. Menu An icon of 3 horizontal lines. Hamburger Menu Icon An icon used to represent a collapsed menu. Next An icon of an arrow pointing to the right. Notice An explanation mark centred inside a circle. Previous An icon of an arrow pointing to the left. Rating An icon of a star. Tag An icon of a tag. Twitter An icon of the Twitter logo. Video Camera An icon of a video camera shape. Speech Bubble Icon A icon displaying a speech bubble WhatsApp An icon of the WhatsApp logo. Information An icon of an information logo. Plus A mathematical 'plus' symbol. Duration An icon indicating Time. Success Tick An icon of a green tick. Success Tick Timeout An icon of a greyed out success tick. Loading Spinner An icon of a loading spinner.

OGUK announces Safety Awards finalists

Matt Abraham, Oil & Gas UK's supply chain director
Matt Abraham, Oil & Gas UK's supply chain director

The finalists have been revealed for an awards ceremony celebrating companies and people who have made an outstanding contribution to offshore health and safety.

Eighteen entries have made it onto the shortlist across six categories and the winners will be announced at an event on August 29 at P&J Live.

The Offshore Safety Awards are jointly organised by Oil and Gas UK (OGUK) and Step Change in Safety, with Total as principal sponsor.

The shortlist for the Maritime Safety category includes crews from Vroon, Nordic American Offshore and a join entry from Solstad and Seacroft Marine Consultants.

Stephanie Sunley, Aramark, Lee Chegwidden, Apache, and Ian McKnight, Wood, will go up against each other for the Safety Representative of the Year title.

Epic, Shell and Cnooc International will contest the Innovation in Safety category.

Shell, Cnooc and ABB are in the running for the Operational Integrity Prize, while Can Group, Asco and Shell are competing for the Sharing and Learning gong.

The Workforce Engagement trophy will be picked up by Noble Drilling, Diamond Offshore or Neptune Energy.

Matt Abraham, health, safety and environment director at OGUK said: “Recognising the achievements of those who have gone above and beyond to ensure safe operations is critical in our pursuit to continually improve industry’s safety performance across the North Sea. The calibre of entries we had this year was excellent and all our finalists should feel very proud of their achievements.”

Jean-Luc Guiziou, managing director, Total E&P UK, said: “Total’s core value is safety and we are delighted to be supporting the Offshore Safety Awards this year. Safety is something everyone in the offshore industry in the UK believes in and these awards allow us to celebrate the best examples of how we bring that to life every day.”

The finalists across the six categories are:

Maritime Safety sponsored by Marine Safety Forum

Oleg Krushynin / Solstad &Eric Wiseman Seacroft Marine Consultants
Crews of the VOS supporter ERRV Vroon Offshore Services
Douglas Bain & Crew Nordic American Offshore


Safety Representative of the Year sponsored by Drager

Stephanie Sunley Aramark
Lee Chegwidden Apache
Ian McKnight Wood Plc


Innovation in Safety sponsored by Bureau Veritas

Epic Exploration & Production Company Ltd EPIC
Shell UK Ltd Shell UK Ltd
CNOOC International and DNV GL Limited CNOOC International


Operational Integrity sponsored by Aker Solutions

 Material Corrosion and Inspection Simplification Project  Shell UK Ltd

CNOOC International
ABB (energy industries business line -Stuart Young) ABB


Workforce Engagement sponsored by Peterson

Robert Ferguson Noble Drilling
Neptune Energy UK Ltd Neptune Energy
Shane Gorman Diamond Offshore


Sharing and Learning sponsored by Spirit Energy

QHSE Team with Company RS & Inspection Services CAN Group
Brent Decommissioning Project Shell UK Limited


The finalists will attend an interactive awards ceremony at P&J Live, Dyce on Wednesday 29 August where they will pitch their safety initiative directly to attendees, who will get the chance to cast their vote and ultimately decide on the winners of this year’s awards.

Recommended for you

More from Energy Voice

Latest Posts