Calendar An icon of a desk calendar. Cancel An icon of a circle with a diagonal line across. Caret An icon of a block arrow pointing to the right. Email An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of the Facebook "f" mark. Google An icon of the Google "G" mark. Linked In An icon of the Linked In "in" mark. Logout An icon representing logout. Profile An icon that resembles human head and shoulders. Telephone An icon of a traditional telephone receiver. Tick An icon of a tick mark. Is Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes. Is Not Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes with a diagonal line through it. Pause Icon A two-lined pause icon for stopping interactions. Quote Mark A opening quote mark. Quote Mark A closing quote mark. Arrow An icon of an arrow. Folder An icon of a paper folder. Breaking An icon of an exclamation mark on a circular background. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Caret An icon of a caret arrow. Clock An icon of a clock face. Close An icon of the an X shape. Close Icon An icon used to represent where to interact to collapse or dismiss a component Comment An icon of a speech bubble. Comments An icon of a speech bubble, denoting user comments. Ellipsis An icon of 3 horizontal dots. Envelope An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of a facebook f logo. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Home An icon of a house. Instagram An icon of the Instagram logo. LinkedIn An icon of the LinkedIn logo. Magnifying Glass An icon of a magnifying glass. Search Icon A magnifying glass icon that is used to represent the function of searching. Menu An icon of 3 horizontal lines. Hamburger Menu Icon An icon used to represent a collapsed menu. Next An icon of an arrow pointing to the right. Notice An explanation mark centred inside a circle. Previous An icon of an arrow pointing to the left. Rating An icon of a star. Tag An icon of a tag. Twitter An icon of the Twitter logo. Video Camera An icon of a video camera shape. Speech Bubble Icon A icon displaying a speech bubble WhatsApp An icon of the WhatsApp logo. Information An icon of an information logo. Plus A mathematical 'plus' symbol. Duration An icon indicating Time. Success Tick An icon of a green tick. Success Tick Timeout An icon of a greyed out success tick. Loading Spinner An icon of a loading spinner.

Shortlist revealed for Gold Awards

Gold awards held at the Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen.
The Gold Award Winners.
Picture by COLIN RENNIE September 8, 2017.
Gold awards held at the Marcliffe Hotel and Spa, Aberdeen. The Gold Award Winners. Picture by COLIN RENNIE September 8, 2017.

Talent from across the oil and gas industry has been whittled down to reveal the shortlist in this year’s Press and Journal Gold Awards.

Respected business and energy figures gathered last week to run the rule over a strong list of nominees.

Members of the judging panel had the difficult task of sorting the best from the rest ahead of the glamorous awards ceremony which will take place at the Marcliffe Hotel and Spa later this year.

Judges were highly impressed by the outstanding quality of candidates discussed during the session, which was hosted by Simmons & Company International.

They decided Grant MacGregor of Wood, Heather Sharkey, of EC-OG and Louise Duncan of Chevron will battle it out for the Above and Beyond Award while Fiona McKie, of Wood, Heather Sharkey, of EC-OG and Rebecca Alison, of OGTC have all been shortlisted for the Dr. Mildred Dresselhaus Award.

Sector heavyweights Colette Cohen, of OGTC, Howard Johnson of Blaze and Steve Phimister of Shell are all finalists in the Industry Leader category while the Health and Safety Award, sponsored by Kelvin TOP-SET, will be taken home by either, Air Control Entech, TAQA or TWMA.

Entier, Nexen and TWMA have all been named as finalists in the Large Company of the Year category while the Innovation Award, sponsored by Balmoral, will be won by either Air Control Entech, Cognitive Geology, Rig Deluge or Tendeka.

Sparrows Group and Wood have both been shortlisted in the Renewables category while ICR Integrity, SengS and Siccar Point Energy will battle it out for Small Company of the Year.

This year’s winner of the Hall of Fame will be announced on the night.

Aberdeen Standard Investments are sponsors of the prestigious event again this year.

Co chief executive, Martin Gilbert, said: “Aberdeen Standard Investments is delighted to support the P&J Gold Awards.

“It’s the leading energy awards event in the north east which rightly recognises the individuals and organisations who continue to ensure the industry has a buoyant future.

“It’s great to see such a strong list of finalists announced today and good luck to all of those involved.‎”

Brenda Wyllie, northern North Sea and west of Shetland area manager at the Oil and Gas Authority, is a judge.

She said: “The product innovation award entries certainly did not disappoint. There were some very impressive candidates who really showcased their new technologies and the advancements being made in our wonderful industry.”

Fellow judge Alan Dick, vice-president, industry and technology at Simmons, said: “A number of exciting and really great people have featured this year, which reflects the strength of the sector.”

Jim Milne, chairman and managing director of Balmoral Group, said: “Once again, the judging session was very exciting. Choosing between all of the entries was a difficult job because there were so many good ones, but there has to be a winner.

“I am looking forward to seeing cheerful winners getting their prizes on the night.”

Nicola Fraser, global head of financial risk management at Aberdeen Standard Investments, said: “The quality of the entrants has been exceptional and it demonstrates the resilience and innovation of the industry.”

Morag McCorkindale, team leader, international trade and investment at Aberdeen City Council, and Stephen Sheal, external relationship director at the Oil and Gas Technology Centre, were also on the judging panel, chaired by Energy Voice editor Mark Lammey.

Mr Lammey added: “This year’s Hall of Fame winner was up against an extremely strong field of competitors. Any of the nominees would have been worthy but, in the end, the judges were unanimous in their decision.

“The person selected for this accolade admirably guided a company through the choppy waters of the last three years, providing a clear direction for the business.

“They will be in esteemed company. Former inductees to the North Sea Hall of Fame include Aberdeen University oil and gas expert Alex Kemp, Balmoral Group chief executive Jim Milne and industry doyen Sir Ian Wood.”

The awards will be held on Friday September 7. For more information email Laura Adam at or call 01382 575308.

Recommended for you

More from Energy Voice

Latest Posts